In 1896 chair-maker Charles Robert Blumsom founded the timber importing business of C Blumsom in Bethnal Green. It later moved to Bangs Wharf, Bow Bridge in East London, and onto bigger premises (2.5 acres) at Maple Wharf, River Road, Barking where the company remains today with the fifth generation.
Robert B Blumsom took control of the company in 1980, recognising that for the company to prosper he needed to expand the operation by opening an advanced on site-machining facility.
Blumsom Custom Milling our sister company, now forms an integral part of our business and has over the last few years benefited from a complete upgrade in excess of £1,000,000. Blumsom boast some of the most highly advanced machining facilities in the country, with a fast turnaround.
Mark Price (Managing Director), Tim Gunning (Purchasing Director) and Frederick C Blumsom (Sales Director) have successfully expanded Blumsom Timber Centre . The Timber Centre welcomes both trade and retail customers stocking; Sheet materials, Hardwood, Softwood, Carcassing, Flooring and Mouldings.